vault (1)
Every Monday Night at 11:20, Rock 105 reaches deep in “The Vault” searching for those deep track you know, love and maybe forgot about!

August 22nd
575800_10150929728893182_262494704_nFormed in 1995, Grammy Award-nominated multi-platinum Mississippi rock band 3 Doors Down consistently captivates audiences worldwide. The quintet’s many accolades include selling 16 million albums globally, receiving three Grammy nominations, and winning two American Music Awards, and five BMI Pop Awards for songwriting—including “Songwriter of the Year.” Their debut The Better Life, became certified six-times RIAA platinum in 2000 and was fueled by the success of juggernaut hit “Kryptonite.” This was followed by 2002’s sophomore album, Away from the Sun which went triple-platinum and saw similar success with “When I’m Gone” and “Here Without You.” 2005’s platinum Seventeen Days and 2008’s 3 Doors Down each earned #1 debuts on the Billboard Top 200, while Time of My Life landed at #3 in 2011. Ignited by the single “In The Dark,” 3 Doors Down unleashes their sixth full-length album, Us and the Night, in 2016.

August 15th
Melodic post-grunge outfit Pop Evil formed in Grand Rapids, Michigan in 2001. The band developed a sound and performance style that took cues from the likes of Kiss, Soundgarden, and Pearl Jam that aptly put them right in line with popular modern rock acts such as Crossfade, Shinedown, and Puddle of Mudd. Including former members of various area bands such as TenFive, the band released its debut independent album, War of the Roses in 2004 before signing with Universal/Republic imprint Pazzo, who reissued their sophomore LP Lipstick on the Mirror (2008) in the summer of 2009. The album featured three singles that hit Billboard’s Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, including the Top Ten “100 in a 55.” The band enjoyed greater success with the E1 label, beginning with War of Angels (2011) and Onyx (2013), both of which peaked around number 40 on the Billboard 200. Up (2015), their fifth album, was considered by the bandmembers to be their best release

August 8th
A powerful, melodic hard rock band combining a forceful guitar attack with emotional, anthemic vocals, Red Sun Rising were formed in Akron, Ohio by vocalist and guitarist Mike Protich and guitarist Ryan Williams, who curiously went to the same high school and lived within a mile of one another for over a decade without ever meeting. In 2006, the two finally crossed paths at a gas station and struck up a conversation about music. It wasn’t long before Protich and Williams were writing songs together; in 2007, they put together the first edition of Red Sun Rising and began playing local gigs. The band earned a reputation for hard work and a strong live show, and began to find its true voice in 2011 when guitarist Tyler Valendza, whose interplay with Williams brought new strength to the group’s sound, joined the lineup. By 2013, Red Sun Rising had self-released two independent albums, Red Sun Rising and The Making of Kings, and they used their website and social media pages to give new listeners a chance to preview their recordings. The strategy helped them develop a strong fan base, and they played frequently in the Midwest as well as setting out on nationwide tours. In 2014, Red Sun Rising — now working with bassist Ricky Miller and drummer Pat Gerasia — signed with well-established indie label Razor & Tie Records, and in early 2015 they returned to the studio with producer Bob Marlette. The group’s first album for Razor & Tie, Polyester Zeal, was slated for release in August 2015